food

My want of something chewy…

It has been exactly one week since I had all four of my wisdom teeth extracted.  While I’ve been pretty lucky (and mostly pain free!), I’m just plain hungry.  It’s obvious that one can’t subsist on a liquid only diet, but I thought I would do pretty well with soft foods only.  To no avail.  Right now, I just really want to chew something.  Like a steak.  Or a bag of potato chips.  Hi-brow or lo-brow, no difference to me.  It probably doesn’t even have to taste any good.

So since I can’t eat anything especially delicious, I thought I’d share this recipe that I won’t be able to enjoy, in hopes that you might.  But please don’t rub it in.

spinach artichoke pizza

Spinach Artichoke Pizza

ingredients

dough (I prefer Trader Joe’s herb if you can get it)
several cloves garlic
homemade aioli (recipe to come)
fresh spinach leaves, chopped
artichoke hearts, chopped (canned are fine, if you can’t get fresh ones)
1 large spanish onion, chopped
mozzarella cheese

The key to this recipe really is the homemade aioli, which I will post the recipe for as soon as I figure out what proportions I’ve been using.  Ever since I’ve learned how to make homemade emulsifications, I can’t stop myself!  I’ll never buy mayonnaise again!

to cook

Wrap the garlic cloves in tinfoil and toss them into the oven, at about 425 degrees.  Let them roast for about 45 minutes.  We’ll add them to the pizza at the end.

While the garlic is roasting, stretch out the pizza dough onto your tray of choice.  I usually use a bit of olive oil on the pan to prevent stickage, but you can also use tinfoil, or cornmeal.  Once the dough is nice and stretched out, spread your homemade aioli on top–not too thick. In this case, a little goes a long way.  Sprinkle with the mozzarella cheese.  Then lay down the toppings: the chopped spinach, artichoke hearts, and spanish onions.  Feel free to sprinkle more cheese on top of those.  Then pop the pizza into the oven, for 10-15 minutes depending on your preference for crunchy or soft.

When both the pizza and the garlic are finished, remove from the onion.  Peel the garlic cloves and spread the now soft and deliciously roasted garlic on top of the pizza.

Enjoy!

Standard

Leave a Reply

