food

Chugging along on the Buttermilk Channel

I finally ventured down to south, south Carroll Gardens last night to cross the night restaurant off of my list: the new Buttermilk Channel.  I’d heard rave things, and so I dragged my poor starving friend along for two miles (should have taken the subway).  After hearing that it was a 45 minute wait for a table, I thought H

ayoung was literally going to kill me, most likely with the nearest utensil.  But, due to the earlier evening rainstorms, few people were eating outside, and we snagged a table there instead.

We ordered a cheese plate (which I’m pretty sure was sourced from Stinky Bklyn, the amazing local cheese shop), and it showed up at the same time as the honey-drizzled popovers, which we promptly asked for more of.  The roasted grapes threw me off at first (confession: I don’t eat olives and that’s exactly what they looked like) but they were sweet and soft and we ate them all.  I also had a glass of wine from Brooklyn Oenology–Brooklyn’s very own winery–and I will definitely be ordering more.  Probably not the Merlot, but that’s just a matter of personal preference.  And as a francophile, I was fairly impressed with our local Long Island grapes.

The decor was simple but elegantly rustic.  Inside, which I didn’t have much of a view of, has long communal tables and a comfortable feel.  But when our food finally arrived, I have to say that I was slightly disappointed.  I’m willing to admit that I might have ordered wrong, but disappointing all the same.  The duck meatloaf, while enticing sounding, didn’t live up to expectations (and oddly enough, I bit into something inedible in the first bite, though I was not deterred) but the sweet corn pudding it sat upon and the broth it was resting in made up for the bland flavor of the meat.

Next time I go (yes, I’ll probably go back), I think I’ll stick with the burger or the buttermilk fried chicken, the comfort food that the kitchen is known for.  And I’ll definitely be trying the dessert.

Next up: Watty & Meg.  Anyone want to come with?

Standard

Leave a Reply

