food

Coming this weekend…

Our very first meals with our Brooklyn Beet CSA produce!

Yesterday we picked up our first week of fruits and veggies from the local CSA we signed up for.  For those of you who aren’t really familiar with what Community Supported Agriculture is, Brooklyn Beet (the Boerum Hill area CSA) has a great website that explains it all.  In short, it’s basically an investment in a local farm. You pay up front to support the farmer, and then they deliver (or in our case, we pick up at the YWCA) fresh produce from their farm every week, through the end of the harvest (about November).

This week we picked up red and green lettuce, fresh peas, carrots, radishes, beets, parsnips, thyme, mint, parsley, and two huge boxes of strawberries!  I’d take a picture and show you all of the beautiful colors, but a new camera is on my wishlist (and I promise this blog will become a lot more colorful when I manage to get my hands on one!)

So this weekend I am going to buckle down and experiment in the kitchen.  Anyone have any recipe suggestions for beet root? Or radishes? Or This CSA is going to introduce me to a whole new group of veggies that I never would have dreamed of cooking with!

One thing to really look forward to: with all this mint, I think I’ll be drinking variations on mojitos for months!  I love summer…

fresh CSA veggies

Standard

Leave a Reply

