books, food

Books I Will Like (thanks, NPR)

I love when my two favorite things come together, and this is the perfect example of that: food memoirs.  And this summer, there are more than a few I want to dive into.  Jennifer Reese on NPR’s “Books We Like” segment profiled both Orangette (Molly Wizenberg)’s memoir “A Homemade Life” and fellow Brooklynite Giulia Melucci’s “I Loved, I Lost, I Made Spaghetti.”  NPR has excerpts for both of them, although I think I’m going to have to swing by my favorite bookstore (indie, of course!) on the way home from work to pick up a copy of each.  This is exactly what I need for the long weekend!

And while I’m on the topic of books, I have to tell everyone out there to read Julia Child’s “My Life in France.”  A chronicle of her discovery of food (and cooking) upon moving to France with her husband, “My Life in France” is the perfect introduction to Julia: witty, tender, and absolutely delicious.  She profiles classic Parisian restaurants that closed their doors many decades ago, and takes the reader deep into the South of France, to a Marseille that is far from the city it is today.  A must-read for all foodies (ok, I admit it, and francophiles), and certainly a departure in perspective from our health-driven, stylized commercial food culture of today.  A welcome departure at that.

Standard

Leave a Reply

