food

Simple Sundays Part III: Dessert

This week we hauled home about two pounds of peaches from the CSA pickup.  Unfortunately, they ripened and then went bad pretty quickly, so I only had two left for tonight, right on the edge of turning rotten.  So I called in my southern backup: Paula Deen.  Now I have to admit that I although I love watching her on the food network, I have a hard time bringing myself to make one of her recipes.  It’s almost as is Paula Deen has become synonymous with butter, sour cream, or mayonnaise (sometimes all 3!).  But her peach cobbler recipe, with a few modifications, didn’t seem so unhealthy.  And so what follows is a slight spinoff (with, of course, modifications for having only 2 peaches, and a ton of extra blueberries).

DSCN1060

Blueberry Peach Cobbler

Preheat oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit.  Slice and peel the peaches (as I said before, I used 2).  In a saucepan, combine the peaches with 1/4 cup of sugar and a couple tablespoons of water.  Bring to a boil and simmer, so that the sugar, water, and peach juices reduce to a syrup and start to caramelize the fruit.  While the fruit is simmering, make the biscuit topping.  Combine 1 cup of flour with 1/2 tsp of baking powder, 1/2 tsp of baking soda, and 1/4 tsp of salt.  Then stir in 1 cup of sugar, and 3/4 cup of milk.  Stir to combine, leaving no lumps.  That’s the cobbler part.  Now to build the dessert:

I used individual gratin dishes, in which I melted 1/2 tablespoon of butter in each.  Then I ladled the cobbler mixture into each gratin dish, without mixing it into the butter.  On top of that, layer peaches (strained of the syrup) and blueberries.  Then spoon a little bit of the syrup on top of the fruit and sprinkle with cinnamon.  Put in the oven for about 30 minutes; the cobbler will cook over and envelop the fruit.  We served ours solo, but it would have been even better with unsweetened freshly whipped cream (or, of course, ice cream).  Dig in!

Standard

One thought on “Simple Sundays Part III: Dessert

  1. Sheila Dickson says:

    This sounds easy and delicious!! I love your off-handed way of writing your recipes!!
    Quite a distinctive style!!

    Now I will attempt to print your recieps!!

    Love ya,
    Grammy

Leave a Reply

