food

My Mom’s Corn Salad

This one goes out to my mom – who, immediately after seeing Julie & Julia, called me to chat about my blog AND point out that her corn salad is better than my corn salad.  Admission: it is.  So on Monday night (yes, I’m behind, I know!) she emailed it over to me and I cooked it up for a small group of friends.  It was unanimously delicious.  So here it is.  Fresh and simple.

Megalie’s Mom’s Corn Salad

the veggies

6 ears corn
2 tomatoes
1 large avocado
1 red onion
1 cucumber
crumbled blue cheese

the dressing

dijon mustard
olive oil
balsamic vinegar
1 minced clove garlic
herbes de provence

to prepare

Cook the corn.  While you can do this the way you find to be best, here is my preferred method so as to not overcook.  In a large pot, bring water to a rolling boil.  Then add the corn and remove the pot from the heat.  Let the corn sit for about ten minutes and remove.  When cool, slice the kernels off the cob into a large bowl.  Then add the rest of the veggies, which you can dice while the corn is cooking.  Sprinkle with the blue cheese.

Make the dressing by combining the garlic, mustard, herbes, and vinegar.  Then slowly whisk in the olive oil.  Taste as you go – I’m not suggesting proportions, because I have an obscene love of balsamic vinegar, and man, do I like my vinaigrettes strong.  Drizzle over the veggies and cheese, toss, and enjoy.

This salad is best served fresh, because the flavors do tend to grow dull when you refrigerate it for long periods of time.  That said, I’ve been eating the leftovers for lunch for the past two days, so it does keep for a bit (although has needed added salt, and does get a bit soggy).

P8100005

We did take a picture… and as soon as I find that little cord that plugs the camera into the computer, I’ll share. [Update: I found it. And here’s the picture. Even though corn salad in this light… not as pretty as it is delicious.]

Ohh! And saw Julie & Julia last night (as I announced on my way out the door).  So I just have to confess my love for both Julia and Meryl’s performance.  Bravo!  I’ll be picking that up when its out on DVD…

Standard

2 thoughts on “My Mom’s Corn Salad

Leave a Reply

