food

Okay, I know, I have a habit of disappearing.

But (there’s always a but): it was the long weekend, I had tons of work, several projects are coming up due, yadda yadda yadda I’ve got more if you need them.  I had no idea making the transition back to fall (among other things) would be so hard!  But I’m here now.  Isn’t that worth something?

Last night T and I headed around the corner to the Brooklyn Inn (if you’re not from the neighborhood, you might recognize it from its brief role in Gossip Girl, caught betwixt Vanessa, Chuck, and Blair) for our first CSA cook-off.  Well, we didn’t cook anything because I don’t think I’ve been home for more than 5 minutes at a time this week, but we thought that we would offer up our excellent palates and judge.

Well, seems like nobody else had an extra few minutes to cook up a dish either.  The only one that entered the cook-off was a simple (yet delicious) Yellow Tomato sauce pasta dish.  Which I then ate an entire plateful of for dinner.  I don’t recall the woman’s name (she didn’t stay long), but from what I tasted, here’s a quick and easy way to throw together a fresh dish for a last minute dinner.

Onions
Garlic
Yellow Tomatoes
Pasta (spaghetti or angel hair)

Start with your aromatic: saute the onions (chopped) in butter while you’re boiling your pasta in another pot.  Dice the yellow tomatoes and throw those in with the onions once the onions are translucent.  Add the garlic, cook for another minute (you don’t want the tomatoes soggy or the garlic bitter) and remove from heat.  Mix in the pasta (we had angel hair) and top generously with parmesan cheese.

Then say goodbye to summer, because it looks like fall is on its way in…

Standard

Leave a Reply

