featured

Seriously, still here!

Now, I know it might be hard to trust me again, after my unannounced absence, but it will be worth it, I promise (especially after next Tuesday when all of my hard work becomes public).  But I’m here again this morning, with another recipe and some ideas on weekend post possibilities… I think Megalie might expand into cocktails.  So if you have requests (or recipes to share!), let me know!

Last night A and I cooked up a really simple, but really delicious, Italian dinner.  Its finally fall, so comfort food is back, and in a big way.  No more silly salads for me!  This also means I am back to my regular gym schedule, and for good reason.  Must fight off all of that heavy cream that I simply can’t resist.

This recipe grew out out of Bon Appetit article this month, for a sausage and white kidney bean dish.  We improvised on it a bit (and have some suggestions that might make yours a tiny bit better than ours), but you can find the original recipe (with quantities… Mom) on Epicurious if you want to stick to the letter of the law.

Sweet Italian Sausage and White Beans

Ingredients
White Kidney Beans
Sweet Italian Sausages
Garlic Cloves
Canned Plum tomatoes (peeled)
Olive Oil
(See, told you it was simple)

Preparation
Mince the garlic, chop the peeled tomatoes, and slice the sausage.  I might recommend removing the casing first and then slicing, although if you do this you have to be very careful when you cook the sausages, so they don’t just fall apart.  Heat up some olive oil and add the garlic to the pot (we used 5 cloves I think?  We love garlic).  Then add the sliced sausages – don’t move them around too much, you just want to brown them on each side.  Then add the tomatoes (WITH the sauce from the can) and kidney beans (which you have drained the liquid from).  At this point, you can also add oregano, basil, and salt and pepper.  Simmer this for anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour, until the sauce is at the thickness you prefer.  Dig in!

Note: the ratios are all up to you.  We had tons of sausage and tomtoes, and less beans.  Just a matter of preference.

Standard

Leave a Reply

